Despite Michigan giving us one last Snowmageddon, spring seems to finally have come. With my incredibly extensive time at home alone, I’ve been suffering from cabin fever in ways I never have before. I’ve come to the conclusion that I definitely get SADS. I’m seriously a different person between the months of January-March. Sorry friends! But today is near 60* Fahrenheit, the sun is shining, the birds are singing. Dad and I took Gunny for a walk, and I spent the remainder of the afternoon lying in bed relaxing as the breeze blew through my curtains. Perfect.

Anyway, the other thing making me extra introspective is the fact that a couple weeks ago marked the anniversary of my adopting Gunny! He’s a year old! Howwwwww??? He has gone from our fuzzy baby who couldn’t climb stairs or run to a majestic fluffer who sleeps on couches and herds soccer balls instead of sheep. He can run and climb stairs, by the way, despite concerns expressed by some friends upon seeing his 6-8 month attempts. He’s still pitiful, and the cutest dog ever. During his first few vet visits, the ladies in the office constantly talked about how they’d never seen a collie so small, and now, they talk about how they’ve never seen such a big collie. We’ve taken both comments with a grain of salt.

Dad, who was originally indifferent to the idea, is now totally wrapped around the grand-puppy’s paw. As is my mom. He goes nuts when “grandma and grandpa” come home from anything. He still loves cuddles, though he now prefers to curl up on the loveseat next to whomever is currently occupying it (or by himself) rather than in a lap. We’re still working on manners, but he’s also still a baby. A baby that I spent over an hour brushing only to get his butt and part of his mane groomed the other day… It’s a darned good thing he’s so cute.

He also makes this lawn mower sound when he’s sleeping. It’s sort of like “Now powering down your collie” as he snoozes. Sometimes he also sucks on his tongue in his sleep which is just too adorable for words. Actually, he just makes a lot of noise in general. Apparently, collies are known for being very vocal & communicative dogs. He absolutely lets you know if he wants something. Even if that something is just you gazing upon his magnificence. Still, he’s a keeper, and we love him absolutely to bits.

Happy Birthday/Gotcha Day, Gunny!